University of Geneva

The University of Geneva was founded in 1559 by Jean Calvin. It is the second largest university in Switzerland with 16,500 students of more than 150 different nationalities. The university includes 9 faculties: Faculty of Sciences, Faculty of Medicine, Faculty of Humanities, Faculty of Social Sciences, Faculty of Economics and Management, Faculty of Law, Faculty of Theology, Faculty of Psychology and Educational Sciences, Faculty of Translation and Interpreting. It is ranked among the best three generalist French speaker universities and among the 150 best universities in the world. The university has French- English bilingual teaching policy.

  • Address: University of Geneva
    24 rue du Général-Dufour
    CH - 1211 Genève 4
  • Telephone: +41(0)22 379 71 11
  • Official website:

Fields of Study

  • Historical and Cultural Sciences
  • Law, Economics, Business Administration/Management
  • Linguistics and Literary Studies, Communication
  • Mathematics, Computer Science
  • Medicine, Nursing, Therapy
  • Sciences and Earth Sciences
  • Social Sciences
  • Teaching, Educational Science
  • Theology, Religious Studies


  • Science
  • Medicine
  • Humanities
  • Law
  • Protestant Theology
  • Psychology and Educational Sciences
  • Economic and Management
  • Social Sciences
  • Translation and Interpreting